Day 4: Falling, Failing, Rethinking it all

It’s only 9.22am, but I am posting about Day 4 because so much has already happened. Yesterday, I went swimming. It’s just common knowledge that’s what you do when you’re injured right? Well that’s what I did, plus I hadn’t been swimming for such a long time I thought that it would be nice for a change up. Swimming is hard yo! No flippers, just freestylin’ through the pool and in 20 minutes I reckon I got maybe 8-10 laps. It’s a killer cardio workout. There was about three times that I almost drowned by inhaling water because I was tired and lazy with my technique. Nevertheless, aside from dodging around naked old blokes in the changerooms trying to avoid a skin on skin contact situation, it wasn’t too bad. It was a refreshing change. However, I felt that I didn’t do enough so I also did 500 pushups last night. It was in the middle of playing with kids (and knocking them to the ground, woops) so it took me around 40 minutes, but hey, I did 500 pushups.

Lets cut to Day 4. Last night I was feeling determined to get back in the pool. It beat me yesterday! Took me by surprise. I wanted to go back and attack it again and actually get some laps out of a morning session. I woke up, on time showered and ready to go. I only wear my shorts that I wear in the pool and thongs on the way to the pool, quickly jump in the car so I can get the heater working and take off (was freezing this morning). No petrol! Damnit! I forgot about that. No problems, get out of the car and open the squeaky front door, risking waking the two girls up, get the other car keys and close the door again. I jump in the car, ready to go… no petrol. Shit, I really really don’t want to stop and get petrol. 1 – It’s freezing cold and sucking away all of my motivation, and I don’t want to put any more clothes on, 2 – It will take too long. It’s probably only another 5-10 minutes to put petrol in but thats a fair whack out of the swim. Is it worth it? I decide no so I get out of the car and head inside.

I am a little bit pissed at myself for making the decision not to swim but ‘move on’ I think to myself, instead I chuck on the runners, trackies and beanie, grab the dog and take him for a walk up the road. After all, I had planned to start walking later in the week to start working the foot a little bit more, and I wasn’t going far. The school I was heading to is about 500mtrs up the road and has a humungous oval surrounded by a little bit of bush my dog can run around crazy on. It took me about 1 block to realise that my foot wasn’t quite recovered. By the time we got to the school, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to walk home. I let the dog run around while I gathered my angry arse up before I started to head home. I couldn’t even put him on the lead (he’s a bit of a puller) I just had to let him run home basically. He’s a good dog though and stayed close.

Summary of the morning: Swimming – Fail, Walking – Fail, Foot – Fail, Smoking – Fail. Yep, was so annoyed that I went home and lit up again. First nicotene that has gone past my lips for quite a while. Instant regret shot over me, so I went inside, still being early and laid on the couch.

It was 7.15am and I honestly just wanted to start the day again. So I went to sleep. I set my alarm for 8 o’clock and went to sleep hoping that I could start over, in a better mood, with a better outlook. Unfortunately all that happened is I woke up groggy and annoyed about the morning.

So where am I at now. Well, in light of this recent injury, failings and everything else I am trying to figure out what to do. Was this the right time to start this 1000 day challenge? I don’t want to stop, because I have always put things off my whole life, now that its started, I can’t just hit the reset button can I?
One thing that I do think I am going to do is quit Crossfit. Just for a month or so. I have already been on the google search for a stretching class somewhere around here that I can do to try and make myself more limber and avoid injury. I am thinking about starting that, as well as continuing with low impact training. Maybe a month of serious swimming or something along those lines.

Planning starts today + 1000 situps tonight!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

