Day 2: Over before it started… almost

One of the most critical things that I forgot to mention yesterday is that I am starting out my 1 thousand days injured! Recently I have strained my peroneal (no idea if that spelling is right, not really fussed) muscle in my leg. The outer muscle of my right leg and foot is screwed! I did it last week running with a pair of old runners. I now wear minimal shoes most of the time, but I had to revert back to the asics as my NB’s wear dirty from the recent Warrior Dash.

I took the shoes and went for a run. It all went fine, no major things to report. However in the hour or so following my foot started really hurting. Since then I haven’t been able to walk on it and have had little time to ice it or go and see someone about it.

Well yesterday I finally did go and see someone about it. Rose at Tammy Davis Podiatry (I am deliberately writing this here so I can remember for next time) tells me that I have strained the above mentioned muscle and that it needs rest and icing. So, here I am in a predicament. Do I continue to exercise in some stunted capacity as I have been the last few days, or do I rest. I want to say rest, but then I feel like my mind is playing tricks on me. I have just committed to this 1000 days… I think my mind is still weak and doesn’t want me to go and experience some WOD pain today.

After wrestling with the idea all day, I have decided that today will be rest day, as a matter of fact I might rest from Crossfit all week. I keep returning injured only to re-injure myself. After icing my leg all day it feels like it will recover quite fast and nicely. I don’t want to screw it up, and although it is an inconvenient time, I will take the rest day and continue working for the rest of the week.
Wednesday is traditionally my rest day anyway, so I am just switching it by a day really. Tomorrow, I think I will try swimming, maybe Thursday too and get into walking/jogging later on in the week (I would ride, but I hate cycling).

So while there is no exercise related stuff to report on for day 2, here is whats up with the blog. This blog is only temporary, I will be refurbishing my old website and adding new categories, including a 1000 days category for this blog, mind you, this will be the most consistently updated blog… for the next 1000 days at least! If you’re reading this now (chances are that no-one is, and thats the point… talking to myself ha ha), in the future I will be located at http://www.rustyrunner.com.

The whole point of this blog, is for me to get everything out there. I used a blog when we did a charity venture with the Rusty Runner Challenge and it was great just to float my thoughts out into nothingness (or somethingness). Hopefully, I can put some useful content into this blog, and someone can find a little bit of interest.

I know that my explanations of who I am etc. have been short so far but for the first few days I really just need to git some stuff up. Then I will update the site and we should be off to a better start.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

